Uncategorized

Editorial: Awareness

With coming holidays, it’s easy to get caught up in material items with Black Friday and Cyber Monday, all the while ignoring and neglecting the important things around us- our family and friends. Holidays are the best time to show a friend you care about them, or to express how grateful you are to have them in your life – whether you do, make, or buy something nice for them or you support them during hard times. This month is going to be all about caring for those around you and finding who you are. AsĀ Paramahansa Yogananda said,

“Millions of people never analyze themselves. Mentally they are mechanical products of the factory of their environment, preoccupied with breakfast, lunch, and dinner, working and sleeping, and going here and there to be entertained. They don’t know what or why they’re seeking, nor why they never realize complete happiness and satisfaction. By evading self-analysis, people go on being robots, conditioned by their environment. True self-analysis is the greatest art of progress.”

After reading and taking notes on the book “You Are A Badass” by Jen Sincero, I’ve been thinking about who I am and my place in this world. I’ve been trying to spend less time on electronics and more time reading, exercising, and using my bullet journal for personal reflection. I’m trying to become a more positive person and to surround myself with people and things that encourage self-awareness. I want to know myself on a deeper level and to truly reflect on what I love about myself and what I know I could improve on without it being detrimental to my health, and I encourage you to do the same as we celebrate the coming holidays with our loved ones.

What awareness means to us: recognizing the good and bad in life; being thankful for the good things; acknowledging the bad things but not letting it drag you down; being aware of the people around us and not being ignorant to other’s struggles; awareness of social issues in the world; self awareness- who you are, who you want to be, who you were; self love; self care; putting away electronics to look at the world around you; nature; meditation.

Leave a comment